CASTAC David Hakken Prize

Since 2015, the Committee on the Anthropology of Science, Technology, and Computing (CASTAC) has awarded a graduate student paper prize in recognition of excellent work by rising scholars. In 2016, the prize was named in memory of David Hakken for his pioneering work at the intersection of ethnography and cyberspace.

The prize is awarded to a graduate student paper that exemplifies innovative research at the intersection of anthropology and science and technology studies, demonstrating theoretical sophistication and an appreciation of the methodological challenges facing the anthropology of science and technology. The winner of the prize will be recognized during the AAA meetings and will receive a certificate and $100 cash award, sponsored by the General Anthropology Division.

2017 Submission Guidelines
Papers should be blinded, with the author’s name and any implicating citations removed. Please remember to include your name and affiliation in the email with your submission.
Papers should have numbered pages.
Papers must be between 7,000 and 8,000 words, not including references, and they must be unpublished at the time of submission (papers that have been submitted for publication are permitted).
Authors must be graduate students at the time of submission.
The committee will be unable to consider any paper that does not follow these guidelines.

Nominations: Due June 30, 2017
Please send papers for consideration to [email protected], as email attachments in Word format. Submissions must be received by Friday, June 30th to be considered for this year’s prize. Any questions can be directed to Nick Seaver ([email protected]) or Beth Reddy ([email protected]).

2016 Winner

Kellie Owens (Northwestern University) for “Too Much of A Good Thing?: American Childbirth, Intentional Ignorance, and the Boundaries of Responsible Knowledge.”

2016 Honorable Mention

Shreeharsh Kelkar (MIT) for his “Platformizing Pedagogy: MOOC Infrastructures and the Transformation of Roles.”