Open Access Teaching Resources

Posted by on Dec 5, 2016 in Teaching Anthropology | Comments Off on Open Access Teaching Resources

Open Access Teaching Resources

December 5, 2016

Katie Nelson, PhD

 

During the American Anthropological Association’s 2016 annual meeting in Minneapolis, I helped facilitate a roundtable discussion sponsored by the Society for Anthropology in Community Colleges. The discussion spurred a robust conversation on the merits and challenges of open access teaching opportunities in anthropology. Addressing the new landscape of open access educational resources including journals, textbooks, data repositories, and multimedia collections, we discussed opportunities to connect students with instructional materials in ways that reduce the price and access barriers that have existed in the past. We also addressed questions about how to curate open access content for students and how to avoid a rush toward “open everything” that devalues the expertise involved in traditional academic publishing. The presenters offered a range of resources that can be incorporated into anthropology courses to enhance collaboration, experimentation, and the exchange of knowledge including the following:

 

Open Access Resources

  1. Sapiens website: http://www.sapiens.org/
  2. Palomar College anthropology tutorials http://anthro.palomar.edu/tutorials/
  3. Smithsonian AnthroNotes: http://anthropology.si.edu/outreach/anthnote/anthronotes.html
  4. AAA Understanding Race website: http://www.understandingrace.org/
  5. American Ethnography Quasimonthly website: http://www.americanethnography.com/
  6. Bradshaw Foundation website: http://www.bradshawfoundation.com/
  7. Pop Anth: Hot Buttered Humanity website: https://popanth.com/
  8. The AnthroGeek website: https://theanthrogeek.com/
  9. Savage Minds website: http://savageminds.org/

 

UTP Anthropology Website

The University of Toronto Press Higher Education’s Anthropology website contains information on new books, shared syllabi, teaching strategies, and new developments in Anthropology, including their forthcoming ethnoGRAPHIC Series – ethnographyt in graphic novel form.

http://www.utpteachingculture.com/

 

Related Blog Post

Barbara Fister’s blog post about her AAA panel entitled: Curation, Evaluation, and Open Access for Teaching

https://www.insidehighered.com/blogs/library-babel-fish/curation-evaluation-and-open-access-teaching

 

 


Roundtable title: Open Access Teaching: Opportunities for Innovation in Anthropology Classrooms

 

Organized by: Nina E. Brown (Community College of Baltimore County)

Discussant: Katie Nelson (Inver Hills Community College) knelson.com

Presenters: Anthony Balzano (Sussex Community College)

Evin R Rodkey (Casper College)

Ryan B. Anderson (San Diego State University)

Anne Brackenbury (University of Toronto Press)

Barbara Fister (Gustavus Adolphus College)

 

Katie Nelson, Ph.D. is a professor of anthropology at Inver Hills Community College. Her research focuses on identity, belonging and citizenship(s) among migrant and undocumented populations in the US, Mexico and Morocco. She is particularly interested in examining how migrants forge a sense of identity and belonging in the contexts national discourses that problematize their presence. She serves as the incoming Chair-elect of the Teaching Anthropology Interest Group, a part of the General Anthropology Division of the American Anthropological Association.